Presenting with Prezi

Today I did a short presentation for some Agriculture students on saving time at the library.  Instead of recycling my old presentation, I decided to go with Prezi, which is like Power Point but allows for zoom ins and other tricks.  I’m as susceptible to “shiny new toy” syndrome as any new librarian (even if I’m not, technically, a Millennial) so this seemed like it might be in my wheelhouse.

So,  I tried it.

Pros:
It’s fun.
I’m a visual/global person, so this format is much more conducive to my brain type, so to speak.
The audience was surprised by the format, and paid more attention than they (probably) would have to a Power Point.
It’s free.

Cons:
It’s somewhat time-consuming.  The learning curve isn’t steep, but it’s there.
Format–I was able to download and open my “Prezi” on my personal laptop, but not on my work computer, which uses “Zip Utility” or some such–not very handy.
I don’t know how long Prezi is going to be around, so I don’t want to get overly dependent.

My Prezi is not as slick n’ shiny as some I’ve seen–not to mention, I can’t seem to stop tweaking it– but here it is:

.prezi-player { width: 550px; } .prezi-player-links { text-align: center; }

One thought on “Presenting with Prezi

  1. Wow! Very cool!

Questions? Comments? Recipes? Limericks?

