Day In the Life

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

8:00 a.m.
-Arrive at work.
8:01 a.m.
-Return Excel book from yesterday to the stacks upstairs.
-On my way up I notice an English professor instructing his students on how to find resources.  Yes!

8:10 a.m.
-Revise today’s “To Do” list.
-Update “Day In The Life” log.

8:45  a.m.
-A colleague at the reference desk calls me for “backup” while she helps someone upstairs in the stacks.

9:00 a.m.

-Feed stray kitten.

SANY0666

9:05 a.m.
-Talk to my supervisor about reservation policies for our classroom and about an instruction session I have later today.

9:30 a.m.
-Update sections in the staff wiki pertaining to library classroom.

10:oo a.m.

-Finish list of upcoming projects, etc.
-Work on handouts for instruction session today.

10:30 a.m.
-Discuss idea for today’s session w/ supervisor.
-Today’s students are getting a walk-through and a talk about library resources and services.

12:30 p.m.
-Walk to Subway for lunch.

1:00 p.m.
Get circulation workers to help me set up laptop and projector in meeting room.
meeting

1:25 p.m.
-Meet instructor and students in lobby.

1:30 p.m.
Start session. Discuss how to use databases and catalogs.  Show them important pages on the library website.


2:35 p.m.
-We finish the tour–all the groups found their items successfully.

-I put the equipment away and lock up.

2:55 p.m.
referencedesk

-I go to the reference desk.
-A student is having trouble recovering an item from his flash drive, so he goes upstairs to IT.
-I give a student who is registered for fall a guest pass.
-I also help a student search for an article on chronic fatigue syndrome.

3:45 p.m.
A co-worker who is out of the office calls.

3:50 p.m.
Someone asks for a guest pass.

4:00 p.m.
A student calls with very specific questions about our laminating services.

4:15 p.m.
I help the student from before find some more information on chronic fatigue syndrome.

4:30 p.m.
printers
I fill up the printers with paper.

4:54 p.m.
A local comes in with her two younger sisters and asks for 3 guest passes.

4:59 p.m.
A staff member asks for help printing out an e-mail.

5:00 p.m.
-A colleague from Periodicals calls.
-My replacement at the reference desk arrives. We discuss the library “Day In The Life” project, an upcoming tech meeting, and LibraryThing, which she’s using for a literature class.

5:25 p.m.
-I finish my “Day In The Life” entry

6:20 p.m.
-I go home.

Questions? Comments? Recipes? Limericks?

