Blogs, social networks, and librarians

I originally started this blog because, well, I knew lots of other librarians blogged and it seemed like a good idea, particularly during my job search. It wasa reason, although hardly a compelling one.

I remember when blogs first started to become popular, but weren’t yet mainstream, that people often mocked bloggers as self-absorbed. Now it’s almost odd *not* to have a blog–especially if you’re a librarian.

Still, I admire people who are able to “let it all hang out” online, and I also worry about them (and, by extension, me). On the odd occasion I’ve seen references to librarians being called out at their workplace for their blog postings. Many librarians integrate their personal and professional lives online, with links to Flickr or instagram pictures, tumblr, etc. linked from their professional blogs. Some even have a flavors.me page that lists all their social networks in one place–Google Plus, FriendFeed, Quora, Flickr, Twitter, Facebook, LiveJournal, Scoop.it, etc. etc. Five or six networks I can understand. But a dozen or more?

I don’t think I’ll ever be one of those librarians who punctuates my convictions with curse words online–not that there’s anything wrong with that. If other people feel and act differently, that’s great and more power to them. It’s just not my style.

Considerations like the above have kept me from updating this blog as often as I’d like. So too have the following:
1). The intimidation factor. There are lots of great librarian blogs out there that really dig into important issues. It’s hard not to feel inadequate.
2). The “what if” factor (related to the above). What if I post something and it is misinterpreted and there’s fall out?
3). Do I even need to blog? There are many thousands of librarians out there doing quality work who don’t feel the need to blog. Why should I bother?
4). This blog post on librarians and deprofessionalization that I read recently. The take-away is that the librarians need to read less blog posts and more professional journal articles.

So, these are all questions swirling around my brain in the moments that I blog or (more often) think about blogging or (even more often) think about the fact that I’m not blogging.

One thought on “Blogs, social networks, and librarians

  1. test comment.

Comments are closed.